Limited company accountant fees

A limited company has more to file than a sole trader, so its accountancy bill is usually larger and made up of more parts. This guide sets out the monthly packages that online providers publish, the one-off prices quoted for year-end accounts, and the extras that are often charged on top. We are not an accountancy firm and we do not recommend any provider; local firms set their own fees, so these UK figures are a guide only.

What a company has to file, and what moves the price

Every limited company has a fixed set of obligations, and these set the floor for any accountant's fee. A private company has 9 months from the end of its accounting reference period to file accounts with Companies House. The Company Tax Return is due 12 months after the end of the accounting period it covers, and Corporation Tax is usually payable 9 months and one day after the end of that period. A confirmation statement must be filed at least once every 12 months, and Companies House charges £50 to file it online.

Above that floor, the price depends on how much else the company does. Zmartly, updated 28 August 2026, splits monthly limited company packages into bands that show this well: £80 to £120 for a simple company, £120 to £180 once VAT and director payroll are added, and £180 to £250+ for a company with staff and bookkeeping (VAT not stated). Turnover, the number of directors who need their own tax returns, and whether the books arrive ready or need tidying also make a difference. A dormant company that does not trade usually costs much less.

Monthly packages from online providers

These are prices published by online providers for their own limited company packages, or reported by a third party where we could not read the provider's own page. Providers are listed alphabetically and are not ranked, and listing them is not a recommendation. Crunch's own pricing page did not show its monthly prices when we checked, so its figure comes from ExpertSure. Gorilla Accounting's price is as reported by a competitor, Sleek, and we have not checked it against Gorilla's own site. 1st Formations also lists an "All Inclusive with Accounting" package at a price that looks anomalous, so we have left it out.

Limited company packages, listed alphabetically by provider
ProviderWhat is includedPriceVATDate
1st FormationsAccounting plans: Simple, Standard, Scale£49.00, £89.00 or £129.00 per monthExcludes VATNo date shown, checked 5 November 2026
Crunch, via ExpertSurePremier limited company planFrom £185+VAT a monthExcludes VATExpertSure prices verified September 2026
GoFormaLite, Start, Operate or Grow bundle£28, £88, £128 or £148 per monthVAT not statedNo date shown, checked 5 November 2026
Gorilla Accounting, as reported by SleekLimited company package£125 + VAT a month, flatExcludes VATSleek page updated 27 October 2026
SleekEntry plan, for turnover up to £90,000; Pro plan with VAT filing included£900 + VAT a year (£75 a month, billed annually); £2,160 + VAT a yearExcludes VATUpdated 28 October 2026
The Accountancy PartnershipLimited company planFrom £39.50 per monthExcludes VATNo date shown, checked 5 November 2026

Year-end accounts bought as a one-off

Some company owners keep their own books and pay only for the year-end accounts and Company Tax Return. The prices below come from a mix of provider price lists, guides, a survey and a marketplace. Budget online providers quote by turnover band, while Sleek, Zmartly and the IRIS survey describe what traditional firms tend to charge. Airtasker's marketplace figures are based on its own job data and sit below the Sleek and Zmartly ranges. The IRIS survey dates from 2024, so it is older than the other sources.

Annual accounts and Corporation Tax, listed alphabetically by source
SourceWhat is coveredPriceVATDate
AirtaskerLimited company accounts and tax, per task£250 to £400VAT not statedUpdated 26 June 2026
Cheaper Accountant, via ExpertSureAnnual accounts plus Corporation Tax, selected turnover bands£99 dormant; £150 up to £10,000; £250 for £10,000 to £75,000; £500 over £250,000VAT not statedPublished 5 August 2026, verified September 2026
IRIS survey of UK accountantsA set of accounts78% charge £500 to £1,000, 22% more than £1,000VAT not statedSurvey February and March 2024
SleekBasic year-end workAround £500 to £1,500VAT not statedUpdated 28 October 2026
Taxez, via ExpertSureAnnual accounts plus Corporation Tax, selected turnover bands£49 dormant; £199 under £1,000; £299 for £1,000 to £45,000; £599 over £250,000VAT not statedPublished 5 August 2026, verified September 2026
ZmartlyLimited company accounts plus CT600£1,000 to £3,000 a yearVAT not statedUpdated 28 August 2026

Extras that are often charged on top

Packages differ in what they bundle, so the headline price is rarely the whole bill. Examples of published add-on prices, all from pages checked on 5 November 2026:

  • Directors' own tax returns: The Accountancy Partnership charges £10.00 a month each for the first 2 directors, excluding VAT. Sleek reports that Gorilla Accounting charges £150 + VAT for an extra self assessment return.
  • Payroll: Crunch includes director payroll for up to 2 directors up to the National Insurance threshold, charges £20+VAT a month for director salary above that, and charges £20+VAT a month for employee payroll for up to 5 employees. GoForma lists £6 per employee per month beyond the director, 1st Formations £8.00 per person per month excluding VAT, and Sleek £85 per employee a year.
  • VAT returns: GoForma lists £24 a month (VAT not stated) and The Accountancy Partnership from £35.00 a month excluding VAT.
  • Confirmation statement: Companies House charges £50 online. GoForma lists a confirmation statement service at £80, including the £50 Companies House fee, and 1st Formations at £75.99 excluding VAT.
  • Registered office address: Crunch lists £8+VAT a month.

Where a provider does not say whether VAT applies, treat the price as VAT not stated.

Ways to keep costs down

The largest avoidable cost for a company is usually a penalty rather than a fee. Companies House charges a private company £150 for accounts filed up to a month late, rising to £1,500 for more than 6 months, and the penalty is doubled if accounts are filed late in 2 successive financial years. HMRC charges £200 for a Company Tax Return filed a day late and another £200 at 3 months. Getting records to your accountant in good time is the simplest saving.

Beyond that, keeping your books in software through the year means less tidying at year end, and checking whether director payroll and directors' tax returns are included avoids paying twice for the same work. If you are comfortable doing it, filing the confirmation statement yourself costs the £50 Companies House fee. A company that has stopped trading may qualify for a cheaper dormant company service.

Questions to ask about fees

  • Does the fee cover the annual accounts, the Company Tax Return and the confirmation statement, and is the £50 Companies House fee included or passed on?
  • How many directors' personal tax returns are included?
  • Is director payroll included, and what does each employee add?
  • Are VAT returns and bookkeeping included, or charged separately?
  • Can you act as an Authorised Corporate Service Provider for Companies House identity verification, and is there a charge?
  • Does your quote add VAT on top?
  • Is your firm supervised for anti-money laundering by HMRC or by a professional body?

Ask for the scope of work and the fee in writing. You can read more about what the work involves on our page on accountants for limited companies.

Common questions

How much does a limited company accountant cost a month?

Published guides vary. Unbiased gives £200 to £400 per month for accounts, CT600 and director payroll, myPOS gives £100 to £250 per month, and Sleek says most small limited companies pay £60 to £250+ a month. All three leave VAT unstated.

Is a dormant company cheaper?

Usually, because there is little to record. ExpertSure lists dormant company accounts at £99 with Cheaper Accountant and £49 with Taxez (VAT not stated), and 1st Formations lists dormant company accounts at £49.99 excluding VAT. A dormant company still needs to file a confirmation statement.

Does the fee include my own tax return as a director?

Not always. The Accountancy Partnership, for example, charges £10.00 a month excluding VAT for each of the first 2 directors' returns on top of its company plan. Check this before comparing quotes.

Is there a regional figure for limited company fees?

One source, accountingfirms.co.uk, gives South East England limited company fees of £1,500 to £4,500 a year, but it gives no method and does not say whether VAT is included. We have not found any Sussex figures. Our [overview of accountant costs](/costs/how-much-does-an-accountant-cost) shows the full regional table and its caveats.

What happens if company accounts are filed late?

Companies House charges a private company £150 for accounts up to a month late, £375 at 1 to 3 months, £750 at 3 to 6 months and £1,500 after more than 6 months. These are separate from any HMRC penalty for a late Company Tax Return.

Related pages

Sources for the figures on this page

  1. Price list, 1st Formations
  2. Pricing, Crunch
  3. Accountant costs, ExpertSure, 5 August 2026
  4. Packages pricing, GoForma
  5. Sleek vs Gorilla Accounting, Sleek, updated 27 October 2026
  6. How much does an accountant cost for a limited company, Sleek, updated 28 October 2026
  7. Plans and pricing, The Accountancy Partnership
  8. Tax accounting cost, Airtasker, updated 26 June 2026
  9. IRIS survey: how much do accountants charge, IRIS Software Group, 14 May 2024
  10. How much does an accountant cost (UK), Zmartly, updated 28 August 2026
  11. How much does an accountant cost, Unbiased, updated 23 July 2026
  12. How much does an accountant cost for a small UK business, myPOS, updated 20 April 2026
  13. Regional accountant fee trends (2026), accountingfirms.co.uk, 18 May 2026
  14. Late filing penalties, Companies House, GOV.UK
  15. Company Tax Returns, GOV.UK (UK Government Web Archive copy, 18 August 2026)
  16. Filing your company's confirmation statement, GOV.UK
  17. Companies House confirms identity verification rollout from 18 November 2025, GOV.UK
  18. Money Laundering Regulations: accountancy service provider registration, GOV.UK

Send an enquiry

Tell us a bit about what you need. We read every message and, where we can, put you in touch with a local accountant.