How much does a self assessment tax return cost

Plenty of people do not need an accountant all year, only someone to prepare and file a single self assessment return. This guide looks at the one-off fee for that job: what fixed-price online services charge, what price guides say firms charge for different kinds of return, and what makes one return cost more than another. We are not an accountancy firm and recommend no provider; local firms set their own fees, so every figure is a UK guide only.

Why some returns cost more than others

A self assessment return can be a few figures or a long set of pages, and fees follow the complexity. Most price guides split returns into rough tiers. A simple return, for someone with employment income and perhaps a small extra source, sits at the bottom. Self-employment adds the work of checking income and expenses. Income from a rental property, capital gains on shares or property, cryptocurrency disposals and foreign income each add supplementary pages and calculations. Sleek, updated 26 October 2026, says that cryptocurrency disposals, foreign income, or multiple rentals can push the fee past £400.

Timing matters too. Work that arrives in the last few weeks before the 31 January online deadline competes with every other late return, and some firms charge more for it. Records that are incomplete or need sorting will usually add to the bill.

Fees by type of return

These ranges come from two price guides published by firms that sell self assessment services, and from a survey of accountants. They show what the sources say is typical, not what any particular firm will charge. The IRIS survey was carried out in February and March 2024, so it is older than the other two. None of these figures is a Sussex price.

One-off self assessment fees by type of return
Type of returnSleek guideThe Accountancy Partnership guideVATDate
Simple, employed£150 to £250£150 to £250Both exclude VATSleek updated 26 October 2026; The Accountancy Partnership modified 19 October 2026
Sole trader or freelancer£200 to £350£200 to £350 (self-employed with basic expenses)Both exclude VATAs above
Company director£250 to £400Not given separatelyExcludes VATSleek updated 26 October 2026
With property, capital gains, crypto or foreign income£275 to £350 with rental property; crypto capital gains £300 to £500£350 to £500+Both exclude VATAs above
Partnership£300 to £600+; complex with property or foreign income £700 to £1,200+Not given separatelyExcludes VATSleek updated 26 October 2026
Any tax return (IRIS survey)90% of respondents charge between £126 and £400; 1% over £600VAT not statedSurvey February and March 2024

Fixed-price online services

Several online services publish a single fixed price for a standard return. Listed alphabetically, and not as a recommendation:

  • Crunch lists a standard self assessment at £240, shown as £168 +VAT with a 30% discount code, which is a promotional price.
  • GoForma lists a one-off self assessment tax return at £198 (VAT not stated).
  • Sleek lists its own fixed fee at £275 + VAT.
  • Taxfix, formerly TaxScouts, shows prices from £99, but its page is inconsistent, giving plan cards of £169, £249 and £499 alongside a table of £99, £149 and £349 for the same three plans. VAT is not mentioned, and capital gains are charged at a higher fee with no amount given.

The dates on these pages are not shown; we checked them on 5 November 2026.

Marketplaces quote lower figures. Airtasker, updated 26 June 2026, gives a median of £150 per task and £120 to £250 for a sole trader return, but its basic individual return is given as £90 to £140 in one place and £90 to £180 in another on the same page, and it bases its figures on its own job data without giving a sample size. Bark's figures, labelled 2025, give £95 to £250 for a one-off self assessment, and Unbiased, updated 23 July 2026, gives £150 to £600. None of these states VAT.

Sleek also gives regional figures for a single return, with Central London at £250 to £450 and the rest of England at £150 to £400, excluding VAT, and Airtasker gives ranges for a handful of cities. Neither gives a Sussex or South East figure.

What a one-off fee covers and what is extra

A one-off fee normally covers preparing the return from the information you provide, calculating the tax and filing it with HMRC once you have approved it. You will need to authorise the accountant as your agent. Things that are often charged separately are:

  • registering you for self assessment if this is your first return, which must be done by 5 October after the end of the tax year
  • supplementary pages for property, capital gains or foreign income, where the base price covers only a simple return
  • sorting out incomplete records
  • dealing with HMRC questions after the return is filed
  • tax advice beyond the return itself, which some firms bill by the hour

Ask whether payments on account are explained in the quote. If last year's bill was £1,000 or more, HMRC may ask for advance payments by 31 January and 31 July, each half of the tax you owed last year, which can come as a surprise.

Ways to keep costs down

  • Gather your P60, bank interest, rental figures and any disposal details before you ask for a quote, so the accountant can price the actual job.
  • Ask for the quote early in the season rather than in January.
  • If your return is simple, you might file it yourself through HMRC's online service and pay only for a one-off check or question. Crunch, for example, lists an "Ask an accountant" service at £26+VAT.
  • Avoid penalties, which can cost more than the fee. A late return brings an initial £100 penalty, and after 3 months daily penalties of £10 per day, up to a maximum of £900.

Questions to ask about fees

  • Is this a fixed fee, and does it cover every page my return needs?
  • Is there an extra charge for rental income, capital gains, crypto or foreign income?
  • Does the price include VAT?
  • Will you register me with HMRC if needed, and is that included?
  • What happens if HMRC asks questions after the return is filed?
  • When do you need my paperwork to meet the 31 January deadline?

Our page on self assessment tax returns explains the process, and our self assessment deadlines guide sets out the key dates.

Common questions

What is the cheapest way to get a tax return done?

Filing it yourself through HMRC costs nothing beyond your time. If you want help, published prices range widely, from marketplace jobs to fixed-price online services and traditional firms, so compare written quotes for your own circumstances.

Why did my quote come in higher than the guides?

Guides describe typical returns. Rental income, capital gains, crypto, foreign income or incomplete records all add work, and Sleek notes that these can push the fee past £400. Ask the firm what it has assumed.

Is the self assessment fee included if I already pay an accountant monthly?

Often for sole traders, but not always for company directors. The Accountancy Partnership, for example, includes self assessment in its sole trader plan but charges £10.00 a month, excluding VAT, for each of the first 2 directors on its limited company plan.

Can I claim the accountant's fee as an expense?

GOV.UK lists accountant's fees as an allowable expense for a rental business, and an accountant can tell you whether a fee is allowable in your own case. We do not give tax advice.

What if I miss the deadline?

HMRC charges an initial £100 penalty for a late online return, then daily penalties of £10 per day after 3 months, up to a maximum of £900, with further penalties at 6 and 12 months. Interest is also charged on late tax.

Related pages

Sources for the figures on this page

  1. How much do accountants charge for self assessment, Sleek, updated 26 October 2026
  2. How much do accountants charge for Self Assessment, The Accountancy Partnership, modified 19 October 2026
  3. IRIS survey: how much do accountants charge, IRIS Software Group, 14 May 2024
  4. Self Assessment, Crunch
  5. Packages pricing, GoForma
  6. Is TaxScouts legit, Taxfix
  7. Tax accounting cost, Airtasker, updated 26 June 2026
  8. How much does an accountant cost (2025), Bark
  9. How much does an accountant cost, Unbiased, updated 23 July 2026
  10. Plans and pricing, The Accountancy Partnership
  11. Self Assessment tax returns: deadlines, GOV.UK
  12. Self Assessment tax returns: penalties, GOV.UK
  13. Understand your Self Assessment tax bill: payments on account, GOV.UK
  14. Authorising an agent to deal with your tax affairs, GOV.UK
  15. Work out your rental income when you let property, GOV.UK

Send an enquiry

Tell us a bit about what you need. We read every message and, where we can, put you in touch with a local accountant.